President Cyril Ramaphosa has announced former Tshwane Mayor, Dr Kgosientsho Ramokgopa, as Electricity Minister.

Ramakgopa has also been in the Presidency for some time, heading up the Investment and Infrastructure Office.

The President made the announcement during his much-anticipated cabinet reshuffle on Monday evening.

Ramaphosa says the minister’s primary task will be to significantly reduce loadshedding.

“To effectively oversee the electricity crisis response, the appointed Minister will have political responsibility, authority and control over all critical aspects of the Energy Action Plan”.

Ramaphosa also announced another new ministry – also to be located in the Presidency.

Maropene Ramokgopa is the new minister for planning, monitoring and evaluation.

There are eleven other changes in the executive.

These include Thembi Nkadimeng taking over the Co-operative Governance ministry, which oversees States of Disaster, and Patricia de Lille being moved to head up the Tourism Ministry.

Meanwhile Lindiwe Sisulu, Nathi Mthethwa and Maite Nkoana-Mashabane, all have lost their jobs.

The President says he’s instructed cabinet members to move with speed and urgency to address the nation’s challenges.

“I expect them to fulfil their tasks with rigour and dedication, to adopt a zero tolerance approach to corruption wherever it exists, and to place the interests of the people of South Africa foremost in the work that they do. This is the standard that I will hold them to, and I have full confidence that they will meet it. We must waste no time and spare no effort in restoring the promise of South Africa”.