The Khayelitsha Development Forum chair, Ndithini Thyido has been elected as the new chairperson of the ANC in Cape Town.

Nearly 300 delegates attended the 8th regional conference over the weekend.

The Dullah Omar Region has been without a permanent structure since February last year.

Thyido received 162 votes defeating his opponent, Tshepo Moletsane who secured 125.

Mvusi Mdala was elected as the new regional secretary, after getting 158 votes.

Judy-Anne Stevens was named deputy secretary, and Lynn Abrahams as regional treasurer.

Thyido concedes that the leadership is facing the mammoth task to unite all branches in Cape Town.

“Any form that seeks to divide us, we are hoping that the ANC will unite and prepare itself only for the election. We really wish the ANC to unite itself so that it can better serve the communities. Then out of service, the people of Dullah Omar Region and the City of Cape Town would consider it giving a chance at governance”.